Countdown to Purim 5772: Latin Jazz style, “Haman” by The HeartSleeves

From the HeartSleeves blog:

Haman was this douchey visor to King Ahasuerus who basically didn’t like this Jewish dude Mordecai because he wouldn’t kiss his ass, so he decides to have him killed by genocide! That’s right! I hate your ass, so I’m going to kill all of your people! No wonder Purim is a celebration of drinking and dancing and cursing Haman’s name.

What Haman doesn’t know is that Queen Esther, who is this Monica Belluci level of OMGness, is secretly a Jew! She risks life and limb and basically turns Haman’s plot on his own ass. In the end, Mordecai is living the good life and Haman is killed on the gallows he had built for Mordecai’s neck. Done and done!

Heartsleeves is an ecletic neo-soul band, Two of the band memers are Jewish:  Ben Margolis & Jared Lucas Nathanson. Ben approached Jared over the idea of a latin-jazz Purim song, explaining to him that for “young hip Jews on the move”, Purim is “a big boozy Jewish Halloween! ” (Not too far off… he should come to Tel Aviv sometime). Jared himself had never celebrated Purim before, but he took the time to read the book of Esther and even reflect on its significance of a story where God isn’t mentioned in a post-Holocaust world. (see blog link above). Here are the lyrics to the song he and Ben wrote:

There is a scheming evil….Haman
An ego driven evil….Haman
A violent fist presented….Haman
Ahasuerus misdirected….Haman

There is a certain people
scattered abroad and dispersed
Haman told his sovereign
with a deviled tongue and whispered curse

Their laws are different from ours,
a proud king shouldn’t have to tolerate
He plead for our destruction
knowing Mordecai would share our fate

Give me the power to protect myself
Give me the power to protect myself
Give me the power to protect myself
Give me the power

I won’t bow down to evil….Haman
An ego driven evil….Haman
A violent fist presented….Haman
Ahasuerus misdirected….Haman

If I have found your favor,
and my darling if it please the king
Queen Esther asked her sovereign
to bring about old Haman’s reckoning

My life be my petition,
and my people my request
Haman seeks our destruction
Let us arm against at your behest

Give me the power to protect myself…

and Mordecai ascended
honored with a life of dignity
Haman was rewarded
with the end he planned for you and me

They’ll always be a Haman
They’ll always be a darkness we must pass
They’ll always be an Esther
Bold and brave on that darkest path

Give me the power to protect myself…

Categories: To Be a Jew | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

