What It Means To Be A Jew

…. I am an IDF sweatshirt and the chai around your neck.  I am a $100 challah cover that you will never use and the five shekel piece of red string you will wear until it withers away.   I am your Hebrew name. I am your Israeli cousins.  I am your  Torah portion and your 13 candles. I am your Bat Mitzvah dress and the cute Israeli soldier on your Birthright trip.  I am 18 when I discover that Israel is not actually a garden of Eden of milk and honey where Jews of all backgrounds, ethnicities and styles of worship come together, eternally happy and appreciative to do a constant hora in the streets of the Holy Land.  I am still confident that it will be….  (author: Andrew Lustig )

Categories: To Be a Jew | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

